aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/scripts/module-common.lds
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>2009-06-24 15:13:38 +0900
committerTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>2009-06-24 15:13:38 +0900
commit405d967dc70002991f8fc35c20e0d3cbc7614f63 (patch)
treeace31796327e9035488310d42e06acbab3a28656 /scripts/module-common.lds
parente74e396204bfcb67570ba4517b08f5918e69afea (diff)
downloadlinux-yocto-405d967dc70002991f8fc35c20e0d3cbc7614f63.tar.gz
linux-yocto-405d967dc70002991f8fc35c20e0d3cbc7614f63.tar.bz2
linux-yocto-405d967dc70002991f8fc35c20e0d3cbc7614f63.zip
linker script: throw away .discard section
x86 throws away .discard section but no other archs do. Also, .discard is not thrown away while linking modules. Make every arch and module linking throw it away. This will be used to define dummy variables for percpu declarations and definitions. This patch is based on Ivan Kokshaysky's alpha percpu patch. [ Impact: always throw away everything in .discard ] Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'scripts/module-common.lds')
-rw-r--r--scripts/module-common.lds8
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/scripts/module-common.lds b/scripts/module-common.lds
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..47a1f9ae0ede
--- /dev/null
+++ b/scripts/module-common.lds
@@ -0,0 +1,8 @@
+/*
+ * Common module linker script, always used when linking a module.
+ * Archs are free to supply their own linker scripts. ld will
+ * combine them automatically.
+ */
+SECTIONS {
+ /DISCARD/ : { *(.discard) }
+}